Samadhi – Ethical and spiritual living

naga Sadhu

In classical Sanskrit, the word samadhi refers to a state of higher awareness in which a person who is meditating feels at one with the object of his meditation. Samadhi is also the eighth of the eight limbs of yoga, or the Eightfold Path. The Eightfold Path is classical yoga’s guide to virtuous and meaningful living. It lays out the guidelines for ethical and spiritual living, and those who follow it are said to eventually reach enlightenment. According to the practice, in order to reach samadhi, yoga practitioners must pass through all eight limbs of the Eightfold Path. The first seven limbs of the Eightfold Path are: the yamas, or ethical standards, the niyamas, or standards of self-discipline, asana, pranayama, pratyahara, or withdrawal of the senses from outside stimuli, dharana, or concentration, and dhyana, or meditation. Classical yoga teachings say that only after the practitioner has achieved all seven of these initial limbs of Eightfold Path can he achieve bliss, or samadhi. Samadhi yoga claims to offer its students guidance on the path to enlightenment by focusing not only on physical fitness and the physical body, but on the spiritual body and control of the mind and thoughts. Samadhi yoga classes are generally available in most yoga studios.

Many Many thanks for your visit and support comment :)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.