The Hindu society

Hinduism is an ongoing movement and civilization of South Asia, and its historical tradition and philosophy is founded on four Vedas which are the mythical (ancient) history of different ages of Hinduism. In other words, the thought and consequently the behavior of Hinduism both are essentially linked and connected lifestyle with the historical heritage and pragmatic aptitude….

The Bhakti – an expression of love

Bhakti is an expression of love, devotion and faith centered upon the Supreme Person rather than the Supreme Abstraction. It became a popular folk movement which was very strongly opposed by the Brahmins as it disregarded traditional Vedic rituals, ignored caste differences and placed devotion over knowledge. The Bhagavad Gita is the first major expression…

Sadhu -goal of Selfrealization

Om represents the primordial and powerful sound symbol of the Supreme Being, present at the creation of the universe, the original sound that contains all other sounds, all words, all languages and all mantras (a series of sounds that can both protect and transform). It consists of 3 syllables: AUM. The mouth is open when…

India Myths

There is a vast and sometimes bewildering storehouse of Hindu scriptures available that can be classified into several categories. The 4 main ones are shruti (that which is heard), smṛti (that which is remembered), itihāsa (history), and purāṇa (the most ancient, yet evernew). Shruti and the smṛti are the two authoritative sources of Sanātana Dharma….

Sanatana Dharma

Hinduism, more accurately referred to as Sanātana Dharma, is said to have originated in the Indian subcontinent over 5000 years ago. The term Hindu was a misnomer used for the people who lived beyond the Sindhu River, and eventually the term Hinduism was coined to denote the Hindu residents of the Indian subcontinent.

Sadhus are devoted to Vishnu

Vaishnavite Sadhus are devoted to Vishnu and are a later development than the Shaivite. Commonly called Vairagi (detached ones), they are members of various schools of Bhakti (devotion). They do not emphasize the ascetic extremes of the Shaivites. Their common identifying mark is a white V drawn on the forehead, with an added line in…

The Dasanami – follower Tantrism and Shaktism

Sadhus are followers of Shiva and are divided into various sects. The Dasanami (monks with ten names) sect has about ten branches scattered all over India. They each have an armed militant branch called the Nagas. They follow Tantrism and Shaktism, eat meat, take stimulants and are often criticized for their erotic practices. The Gorakhnath…

Sadhu – love is without sacrifice

If my love is without sacrifice, it is selfish. Such a love is barter, for there is exchange of love and devotion in return for something. It is conditional love. Sadhu Vaswani