The Das Mahavidyas – Chronicles from the pages of Indian Mythology

The Das Mahavidyas are Wisdom Goddesses. Das means ten, maha means great, and vidya means wisdom The Das Mahavidyas are considered forms of Divine Mother Kali, who is the first of the then Mahavidyas. Each Wisdom Goddess has her own name, story, quality, and mantras.The spectrum of these ten goddesses covers the whole range of feminine divinity, encompassing horrific goddess’s at one end, to the ravishingly beautiful at the other. Mahavidya means (Maha – great; vidya – knowledge) Goddesses of great knowledge. 

Pic Credit:

Kali (Sanskrit: काली)
Bagalamukhi (Sanskrit: बगलामुखी)
Chinnamasta (Sanskrit: छिन्नमस्ता)
Bhuvanesvari (Sanskrit: भुवनेश्वरी)
Matamgi (Sanskrit: मातंगी)
Sodasi (Sanskrit: षोडशी)
Dhumavati (Sanskrit: धूमावती)
Tripurasundari (Sanskrit: रिपुरसुन्दरी)
Tara (Sanskrit: तारा)
Bhairavi (Sanskrit: भैरवी)

One Comment Add yours

  1. good article,it is useful to me and others,please just keep it….

Many Many thanks for your visit and support comment :)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.