Two Ways Preaching Can Be Dangerous

Article Source: revheadpin.org

The Light Breaks Through

lightstock_256522_small_preaching

Calvin Coolidge wisely expressed it: “One of the first lessons a president has to learn is that every word he says weighs a ton.” And so do those of the preacher! -G. C. Jones.

When I first began in the ministry over twenty years ago, I did not excel at preaching. I am by nature an introvert. I am not into big crowds so public speaking is a challenge even to this day, The process I have to go through to prepare to preach is exhausting. Add to that the anxiety and the gravity of the task at hand and it is a recipe for disaster.

In my first year of preaching, my sermons, designed to last 15-20 minutes, lasted on average seven. I was so nervous that I only took one breath during the message. One dear older, wiser Christian pointed out to me one day, “I like what…

View original post 727 more words

Many Many thanks for your visit and support comment :)

