Weekly Photo Challenge: Tiny- Praying Mantis

Article Source: tourwithbrielle.wordpress.com

TourwithBrielle

When I saw this Praying Mantis, I couldn’t resist a photo. Itintensely followed my every move, slowly turning its head to watch me. I was fascinated by this tiny creature. The way it watched me was almost human-like.

It turns out thatthe Praying Mantisvisionis very similar to that of humans, and they are the only insects that are able to see in 3D. In a study at Newcastle University in the UK, scientists actually made tiny3D googles for Praying Mantises and showed them movies of prey.Whenever it appeared that the prey was close they attempted to attack, which proved the study was a success.Check outthis article from National Geographic for more information: These Praying Mantises Wear Tiny 3-D Glasses—For Science .

01prayingmantis3d-ngsversion-1452601800804-adapt-1900-1Photo from the Newcastle Universitystudy

My own interpretation of”tiny” went completely different than expected.I didn’tplan to go the science route, but occasionally my Biology background comes out.See how others…

View original post 13 more words

Many Many thanks for your visit and support comment :)

