Undercarriage Assembly

Article Source: blog.lostartpress.com

Lost Art Press

adb20_assembled_img_4286

Gluing and wedging the legs into the seat is pretty easy if you don’t have stretchers between the legs. But there are still lots of opportunities to mess things up and get into a bind when you open the glue bottle.

Here’s how I prepare for the glue up so I don’t have many surprises.

First I knock the legs into the seat and pencil around all the tenons – both above the seat and below the seat. The mark around the tenon above the seat tells me about where I should crosscut the tenon before assembly. The mark around the tenon below the seat tells me at what point I should stop sawing a kerf for the wedges.

adb16_leg_for_trim_img_4276

With the legs still in the seat, I also number each one and mark its position in the seat so the leg’s annular rings run parallel to the grain in the…

View original post 367 more words

Many Many thanks for your visit and support comment :)

