Packing List: Winter In The Arctic

Article Source: travellingtheworldsolo.com

TRAVELLING THE WORLD SOLO

MERINO WOOL THERMALS

I have travelled in cold climates before. Winter in Europe – no problem. Autumn in the Arctic – not an issue. Until my most recent trip to Greenland, I had never once really needed my thermals. In Kangerlussuaq, the mercury plunged down to unbelievably cold temperatures (-41 centigrade on the coldest day) and I was in desperate need of the warmest clothing I could find. I purchased some thermals (long underwear) made of merino wool, and it was a bloody good investment. My thermals didn’t keep me ‘warm’ exactly, but they kept me comfortable enough to spend several hours outside in such bitterly cold weather, and honestly, I think that’s the best I could’ve asked for.

I bought my thermals from Australian store Kathmandu – but you should be able to find good long johns in any decent adventure store.

WINDPROOF PANTS

I must admit, this was…

View original post 1,028 more words

Many Many thanks for your visit and support comment :)

