Gangotri – The source of River Ganga

Gangotri is the source of Ganga as Bhagirathi river.

Gangotri
Location :  Uttar Pradesh 
Altitude :  3042 mts. 
Climate :  Summer – Cool during the day and cold at night.
Winter – Snow-bound. Touching sub-zero 
Best Season :  April to November

Gangotri is at an altitude of 3048 meters above sea level. It is on the northernmost part of the state of Uttar Pradesh and is very near the Indo-Tibetan border. It is approximately 300 km from Dehradun, 250 km from Rishikesh and 105 km from Uttarkashi. The summers are relatively cool and winters are freezing cold, with rains in the months of May and June. For the devotees and tourists, the gates of the temple are open only in the months of May to November.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. hungrydai says:

    I never went to this area, Vikas. I lived in India for some years though, in Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala and Manali.

    1. Hey 🙂 I am also belong to the same place Palampur, that’s my birth city and i am grown up there up to 21 yr s: I love my Himachal so much, the beauty that’s never fade 🙂 next time when ever you visit there please contact me 🙂

      1. hungrydai says:

        I know Palampur, Vikas. I’ve overnighted there because of rain several times when riding between Dharamshala and Mandi. If I go there again to visit, I will let you know. I also love Himachal Pradesh.

        1. 🙂 so glad after see you 🙂

  2. Elias Barthe says:

    You’ve one of the better internet websites.

  3. You have the best online sites.

  4. say thanks to a lot for your web site it assists a lot.

  5. Appreciate it! It is an good web site.

  6. I enjoy this website – its so usefull and helpfull.

  7. I delight in the info on your web sites. With thanks!

  8. Laci Slack says:

    Just simply needed to tell you I’m just ecstatic I stumbled onto your website.

Many Many thanks for your visit and support comment :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.